Photo: Southeast Athletics

Pack honored as NJCAA Women's Coach of the Year by The Open Mat

The Open Mat presents awards annually in three categories for each division of college wrestling at the conclusion of the season. Awards are presented for Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year and Wrestler of the Year.

The Coach of the Year for NJCAA women's wrestling goes to the leader of a first-year program who has grown his program into a powerful force in women's college wrestling. The winner: Terry Pack, head coach of Southeast Community College in Nebraska.

In Southeast's first postseason-eligible season, the Bobcats finished with five All-Americans and a national champion. This was enough for Southeast to finish seventh as a team at the 2024 NJCAA Women's Wrestling Invitational.

Eve Herlyn won the national title for the Bobcats at 143 pounds while defeating the No. 1, No. 2 and No. 5 seeds. Several of Southeast's starters earned wins over NAIA national qualifiers, while some even beat NAIA All-Americans. In addition to national champion Herlyn, Southeast's other All-Americans were third-place finishers Talia Lee (130) and Kiara Boldridge (235), fourth-place finisher Nevaeh Leonard (143) and fifth-place finisher Jocelyn Ambriz (170).

The men's and women's wrestling teams at Southeast had nearly 60 wrestlers on their roster in their first season. Pack has built a successful wrestling program at Southeast in short order due to strong coaching, recruiting and marketing.